The Boy in the Photo

General information about the resource:

Type of Resoure: Books
Language: English

What is it about?

by Nicole Trope

She becomes aware of the silence at the other end of the line. A prickling sensation crawls up her arms, her heart rate speeds up. ‘Found who?’ she asks, slowly, carefully, deliberately.
‘They found Daniel.’

Six years ago

Megan waits at the school gates for her six-year-old son, Daniel. As children come and go, the playground emptying, panic bubbles inside her. Daniel is nowhere to be found.

According to his teacher, Daniel’s father, Greg, has picked up his son. Except Greg and Megan are no longer together. After years of being controlled by her cruel husband, Megan has finally found the courage to divorce him. Hands trembling, she dials his number, but the line is dead.

Six years later

Megan is feeding baby daughter, Evie, when she gets the call she has dreamt about for years. Daniel has walked into a police station in a remote town just a few miles away. Her son is alive – and he’s coming home.

But their joyful family reunion does not go to plan. His room may have been frozen in time, with his Cookie Monster poster and stack of Lego under the bed, but Daniel is no longer the sweet little boy Megan remembers.

Cold and distant, Daniel is grieving the death of his father, blaming Megan for his loss and rejecting his family. And as Megan struggles to connect with the son she no longer recognises as her own, she begins to realise that Daniel has a secret. A secret that could destroy their family and put them in terrible danger.

A heartbreaking, emotional drama about a family in turmoil, with a jaw-dropping twist that will blow you away. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Lisa Wingate – this moving and poignant novel is for you.

Other resources that might interest you

Japan Resources

実録公開! 有名離婚弁護士”子の連れ去り指示”の現場

2021年10月10日 本会は、離婚を考えているある女性が、有名な悪徳離婚弁護士に相談に訪れた際のやり取りを、本サイト読者の方からの情報提供により入手しました。その内容を、以下の通り公開します。 Contents 1. 「別居すれば婚姻費用がもらえるよ」 2. 「子供を連れて黙って家を出るんだよ」 3. 「会えないのにお金出す馬鹿いる?」 4. 「どうして離婚したいのかをまだ聞いてない」 5. 「急いで別居、離婚までは長く」 6. 「賢い奥さんは別居するだけであとはほっとく」 7. 「子供をダシにして生きなきゃダメ」 8. 「調停の前は面会交流をブロックできない」 9. 「養育費の10%を5年分いただきます」 10. 「わざと階段から転げてみるとか」 「別居すれば婚姻費用がもらえるよ」 (20XX年X月X日、有名悪徳離婚弁護士の事務所にて) 弁護士:(相談者が書いた質問表を見ながら)離婚した後は、どういうふうにしていこうと?(※太字は弁護士の発言。以下同) 相談者:ちょっと、まだ……。(※細字は相談者の発言。以下同じ) 今住んでるところは賃貸? 賃貸です。 結婚期間が短いから、分けるものが何もないっていう離婚だよ。 そう思ってます。 離婚するときには、子供とお金に関することを決めるんだけど、子供の養育費はもらえます。これは裁判所で、お互いの年収でほぼ機械的に算出されるから。あなたの場合、慰謝料はないし、年金分割も微々たるもの。 もし離婚するってなったら、親権は私が取りたいんですけど。 彼、あんまり子育てしてないんじゃない? 仕事から帰ってくるのが遅くて。帰ると子供に構ってはくれるんですけど。

Read More »

Anatomy of a kidnapping

The Anatomy of a Kidnapping – from ABC Australian Radio Posted on January 1, 2013 by Brian Prager      Rate This The Anatomy of a Kidnapping is a radio documentary by ABC

Read More »